Oarlock height differential - sculling

Remomex
Old timer

Oarlock height differential - sculling

Post by Remomex »

I am fairly new to the world of sculling and have a question regarding oarlock heights - I've learned to row "left over right" (as I think most people in the US do), consequently I usually have a half-spacer difference between my left and right oarlocks (left oarlock higher). Recently someone told me that the boats we use are already "built" in a way that they take care of the height difference and that I should place my oarlocks at the same height.

Being relatively new to sculling I'm not sure which is right or which really feels better, so I wonder if anyone has any insight on this?

The specific boat I was rowing when this conversation took place is a 2006 Hudson HW 2x.
Steven M-M
Elite

Re: Oarlock height differential - sculling

Post by Steven M-M »

Some riggers have the left/right height difference built in, some don't. Best to just measure the height over the gunnel. If you don't have a fancy height stick, a ruler and a carpenter level should do the job.
Steven M-M
Nosmo
Pre-Elite

Post by Nosmo »

Short answer is one space is fine even if there is a height difference in your rigger.

Assuming the gunnels are levels you can use any straight piece of wood, and measure the difference from the wood to the oarlock.
The boat's I've measured had 1 cm difference. Seems almost everyone in my club uses an additional 1 cm spacer, for a total of 2 cm.

As far as I can by how the spacers get moved, one person prefers 3 cm. I occassionally row with 1 cm difference but mostly use 2 cm.
Don't know of anyone else who uses only 1 cm difference.
Someone else asked to have his boat made with more than 1 cm difference built in, but I'm not sure how much.
singlesculler
Pre-Elite

Post by singlesculler »